bio 2022

BIO unveils its executive committee directors for 2022-2023 term

By Jenni Spinner

- Last updated on GMT

(smartboy10/iStock via Getty Images Plus)
(smartboy10/iStock via Getty Images Plus)

Related tags BIO Board of directors Chairman Management Takeda Merck Gilead Sanofi

The Biotechnology Innovation Organization elected the fresh slate of leaders during the BIO International Convention, taking place in San Diego this week.

During the annual BIO International Convention (taking place June 13-16 in San Diego), the Biotechnology Innovation Organization elected its new round of executive committee directors for the 2022-2023 term. The elections took place on Monday, June 13, during the convention.

Michelle McMurry-Heath, president and CEO, Biotechnology Innovation Organization

Michelle McMurry-Heath, BIO president and CEO, said, “On behalf of our entire BIO organization, I want to congratulate our incoming Board directors and section leaders. “This is a critical time for our industry. Our BIO Board – especially one as diverse and multi-faceted as this one – will help drive policies that keep pace with innovation’s promise to cure disease, nourish society, and protect our planet​.”

The newly elected 2022-2023 executive committee directors are:

  • Paul Hastings, Nkarta Therapeutics, board chair/health section chair
  • Elizabeth Lewis, Takeda Pharmaceuticals, board associate vice chair and secretary
  • Bradford Zakes, Ceravast Medical, BIO board treasurer
  • Ted Love, Global Blood Therapeutics, health section vice chair
  • Sylvia Wulf, AquaBounty Technologies, agriculture and environment section chair
  • John Crowley, Amicus Therapeutics, emerging companies section chair
  • Jeremy Levin, Ovid Therapeutics, immediate past chair
  • Erika Smith, ReNetX BIO, emerging companies section vice chair
  • Anna Rath, Vestaron
  • Doug Doerfler, MaxCyte
  • Stuart Arbuckle, Vertex Pharmaceuticals
  • Christi Shaw, Kite, a Gilead company
  • Bill Sibold, Genzyme, a Sanofi company
  • Fritz Bittenbender, Genentech Roche
  • Chris Boerner, Bristol Myers Squibb
  • Eric Dube, Travere Therapeutics
  • Sue Washer, Applied Genetic Technologies Corporation (AGTC)
  • Aamir Malik, Pfizer
  • Jannie Oosthuizen, Merck
  • Victor Bulto, Novartis Pharmaceuticals
  • Bill Newell, Sutro BioPharma

 Other directors confirmed as the executive advisory board (EAB) to the executive committee include:

  • Ron Cohen, Acorda Therapeutics
  • Rachel King, former BIO Board Chair
  • John Maraganore, former BIO Board Chair
  • Richard Pops, Alkermes

Newly elected to the BIO health section governing board for the 2022-2025 term:

  • Jannie Oosthuizen, Merck

Also, individuals newly elected to the BIO emerging companies section governing board for the 2022-2023 term:

  • Pablo Cagnoni, Rubius Therapeutics
  • Kaye Foster, The Boston Consulting Group
  • Mike Huckman, Real Chemistry
  • Elizabeth Jeffords, Iolyx Therapeutics
  • Sheila Mikhail, Asklepios BioPharmaceutical

Newly Elected to the BIO Agriculture and Environment Section Governing Board (2022-2024 Term):

  • Angela Ailloni, Ginkgo Bioworks
  • Rocco Morelli, Recombinetics

Related topics Biopharma Culture

Related news